Click to Home
Go To Search

City of Battle Ground News

Posted on: January 3, 2018

Meet your City Council

2018 City Council
Battle Ground Councilmembers Mike Dalesandro, Brian Munson, Cherish DesRochers and Adrian Cortes, elected to office by voters in November, took their oaths of office at last night’s City Council meeting. They join sitting Councilmembers Shane Bowman, Steven Phelps and Philip Johnson who are currently entering the third year of their current four-year terms. 

Councilmember Dalesandro was first elected to council in November 2013 and is now serving his second consecutive term.  Prior to his first term, he served as an appointed member of the city’s Planning Commission. 

Councilmember Munson was originally appointed to council in July of 2016 to fill a vacated position.  Prior to his appointment, he too served as a member of the city’s Planning Commission.

Councilmember DesRochers was also appointed to fill a vacated position on council. She served in that capacity beginning in December 2016.  Prior to her appointment, she served as Councilmember Pro-Tem, filling in for then-Councilmember Bill Ganley during his leave of absence.  She also served as a member of the Planning Commission.

Councilmember Cortes was previously elected to and served on City Council from 2012 to 2015.  Prior to his first term, he served as an appointed member of the Planning Commission.

Also at last night’s meeting, the council selected Mike Dalesandro to serve as Mayor and Shane Bowman to serve as Deputy Mayor.   Each biennium, at the first meeting of the new council, the council selects one of its members to serve as Mayor and one to serve as Deputy Mayor. The Mayor’s duties, in addition to having the same authority and responsibilities of all councilmembers, are to serve as presiding officer at council meetings and as the ceremonial representative of council.  The Deputy Mayor serves as Mayor should the Mayor be absent. 

Battle Ground councilmembers are elected at-large by voters to serve a term of four years. The City Council is responsible for the legislative function of the city such as establishing policy, passing local ordinances, approving budget appropriations, and developing an overall vision for the city. Under the city's adopted Council-Manager plan of government, City Council appoints a city manager to implement its policies, serve as advisor, and oversee administrative operations of the city.  

Visit Battle Ground City Council for councilmember contact information, a calendar of council meetings, and meeting agendas.

The 2018 Battle Ground City Council are, as shown in the attached picture:

Back Row from left to right: Brian Munson; Steven Phelps; Shane Bowman; Adrian Cortes; Mike Dalesandro

Front Row: Cherish DesRochers; Philip Johnson

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email