Environmental Protection

The city aims to designate and classify ecological sensitive and hazardous areas with the goal to protect these areas' function and value. BGMC Title 18 - Environmental Protection identifies five critical areas: wetlands, fish and wildlife habitat conservation areas, critical aquifer recharge areas, geologically hazardous areas, and frequently flooded areas. 

Wetlands can be found throughout the city and are a critical component to the region. These critical areas are protected at the federal, state, and local level and are intended to remain in their natural state. See the FAQs below on code violations for this specific critical area. 

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4